How do I close my account? (app)

Published on Aug 22, 2023Updated on Sep 29, 20266 min read

Self-service tool

For quick access, click the button below:


Once the account is closed, the account will be permanently closed and can't be retrieved.

Note: after closing your account, a cooling-off period may apply. You won't be able to reuse the same phone number, email, or identity information to create a new account during this time. The duration of the cooling-off period may vary depending on your region.

Before you start

Make sure you have:

  • Transferred or otherwise handled all assets in the account.

  • Completed or canceled all open orders, transactions, and other pending items.

  • Linked an authenticator app to your account.

  • Confirmed that you understand the account can't be recovered after closure.

  • Reviewed the cooling-off periods for reusing your email address, phone number, and identity information.

Note: self-service account closure availability may vary depending on your region and account status. Check the registration, linking, or identity verification page for the latest availability of your information.

Getting Started

  1. Open your OKX app and go to User Center > Account settings

    Open user center page

  2. Go to Security, and select Close account

    Opening Close account page

  3. Closing your account is permanent and irreversible.

    • If you still want to close your account, select Continue to close

    • If you still want to use your account someday in the future, select Freeze instead

  4. Select Reason to close account

Instead of closing your account, you can also select to:

  • Freeze account

  • Migrate account

  • View tutorials

    Reason to close account page

5. Select Continue to close if you still want to close

6. Select I understand after checking what'll happen to Your account, Your personal information and Your orders after closing your account and select Continue

Read the information about what'll happen after you close your account

7. Review your account assets in Trading, Grow, OKX account balance, Web3 wallet balance (if your wallet is connected to your exchange account), untradable assets, and select Continue

8. Close account after your reconfirmation

9. Get SMS/email and the authentication code and Confirm to close the account

Note: it's required to bind with the authenticator app in your account before closing it.

Why can't I close my account?

I still have a balance in my account

Remember to withdraw your remaining balance before you proceed to close your account.

What if I have a small balance I can't clear?

If you have a small remaining balance that can't be withdrawn or converted, contact OKX Assistant for help. Once resolved, you can return to the account closure steps above.

Note: forfeiting your balance is permanent. Once cleared, those assets can't be recovered.

Can I re-register after my account is closed?

You can register again after the applicable cooling-off period. During the waiting period, you may not be able to use your original email address, phone number, or identity details to register or verify a new account.

If you never attempted or submitted identity verification, a 30-day cooling-off period usually doesn't apply. Check the message shown on the registration or verification page to confirm when you can reuse your information.

If you attempted or submitted identity verification, including a pending, unsuccessful, or returned application, the following cooling-off periods apply to your email address, phone number, and identity information:

  • Korea: 3 days

  • Turkey: 30 days

  • All other regions: 7 days

The same periods apply if you completed personal identity verification or closed an institutional account.

FAQ

If I didn't complete identity verification, do I still need to wait?

It depends. You usually won't have a 30-day waiting period only if you never attempted or submitted identity verification. If your account shows as unverified but you previously started the verification process or submitted information, you'll still need to wait specific cool down period .

Why do I need to wait if my identity verification was unsuccessful?

If you attempted or submitted identity verification, you'll need to wait for the specific cooldown-period based on your region after your account is successfully closed before reusing your original email address, phone number, or identity details. This applies even if the verification wasn't completed or approved.

How long is the waiting period for an institutional account?

For an institutional account, you'll generally need to wait for the specific days listed below based on the region follow after the account is successfully closed before reusing the original email address, phone number, or verification information.

Cooling-off period at a glance:

  • Turkey: 30 days

  • Korea: 3 days

  • Other regions: 7 days

When does the waiting period start?

It starts when your account is successfully closed, not when you submit the closure request or contact OKX Support.

Can I recover my account after closing it?

If you close your account through the self-service process, you generally can't undo the action or recover the account. If you may want to use the account again, consider freezing it instead. You won't be able to use a frozen account, but you can request to restore it by following the on-screen instructions.

Why can't I register or complete identity verification after the cooling period?

Check that:

  • Your account was successfully closed.

  • The full cooling period has passed since the account was closed.

  • The email address, phone number, or identity details match those used for the original account.

  • There aren't any other restrictions or required actions shown on the page.

If your account was successfully closed more than the cooling period and you still can't continue, contact OKX Support and include a screenshot of the message or error.